Graduate Scholarship Award

The deadline for the Graduate Scholarship Award has been exceptionally extended to April 1, 2019

The CFD Society of Canada (CFDSC) has established a scholarship in 2005 to encourage graduate students to pursue a thesis based degree involving the advancement or application of computational fluid dynamics. Budget permitting, up to two scholarships of $4,000 will be awarded annually. The applicant must be a full time student in a Master’s or Ph.D. level graduate studies program at an accredited Canadian university. He/she must also be an active member of the CFDSC: the applicant should have presented a paper to a CFDSC conference in the last three years or present a paper at the forthcoming CFDSC conference. The scholarship winner is expected to attend the CFDSC conference, and the scholarship will be given out only during the conference

Specially appointed selection committees of the CFD Society of Canada choose scholarship recipients, based on the excellence of the application. The following judging criteria are employed: Scholarship Application, Academic Achievement (publications and marks), Research Project contribution to CFD (originality, complexity, quality), Letter of Recommendation. The winner will be contacted prior to the CFDSC conference, to make sure he/she attend the CFDSC conference. The winner will be publicly announced at the CFDSC conference.

For details and the application form of the Graduate Scholarship, please see CFDSC_Scholarship_NewGuidelines_2016.

2018 Scholarships ($4000)

Michael Ravensbergen, University of Calgary

2017 Scholarships ($4000)

Simon Bourgault-Côté, Polytechnique de Montréal

2016 Scholarships ($4000)

Mohamed Foroushani Seyed Sepehr, University of Waterloo

Abbas Ghasemi, University of Waterloo.

2015 Scholarships ($4000)

Samuel Mercier, Université de Sherbrooke

Nima Moallemi, UBC Okanagan

2014 Scholarships ($4000)

David Del Ray Fernandez, University of Toronto

Matthieu Boudreau, Laval University

2013 Scholarship ($2000)

Mehrdad Shademan, University of Windsor